





# Second International Conference on Smart Data and Smart Cities October 4-6, 2017, Puebla, Mexico

http://ing.pue.itesm.mx/udms2017/

## Call for papers

A Smart City is defined as a set of instruments across many scales that are connected through multiple networks and provide continuous data regarding people and environment in support of decisions about the physical and social form of the city. This process cannot be completed without technology advancements. Moreover a Smart City cannot be established without a better involvement of citizens (smart people). This conference aims at presenting novel research concerning the use of information and communication technologies in Smart Cities. The second edition intends to further strengthen the communication between senior researchers, students, developers, practitioners and citizens and to establish collaborations on new research topics.

This conference will be jointly organized by the Urban Data Management Society, ISPRS IV/10, IV/6, IV/4 and the local committee located at Puebla by the Tecnológico de Monterrey (ITESM), Universidad de las Américas-Puebla (UDLAP), Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP), Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Optica y Electrónica (INAOE) and T-Systems. The UDMS (<a href="www.udms.net">www.udms.net</a>) is a pioneer in promoting information technologies in European cities from early 70s. ISPRS (<a href="www.isprs.org">www.isprs.org</a>) is one of the largest international organization for geospatial technologies.

Tecnológico de Monterrey, also known as ITESM, was founded in 1943 at Monterrey and today it offers about 200 academic programs including international, undergraduate, master and doctoral programs recognized and accredited by different national and international organisms. ITESM has an international strong reputation among employers and is one of the most prestigious universities in Mexico and Latin America. There are about 85,000 students and 9000 professors distributed in 31 campuses throughout Mexico organized in seven National Faculties and 41 research laboratories.

We invite you to submit full academic papers (approximately 6,000 words) to the conference, related to the following themes:

#### Smart data

- sensor network databases
- on-the-fly data mining
- geographic and urban knowledge modeling and engineering
- green computing
- Urban Data Analytics and Big Data
- Big Databases and Data Management (noSQL)

# **Smart people**

- volunteered information
- systems for public participation

#### **Smart city**

- system of territorial intelligence
- systems for intelligent management (building, transportation, energy, etc.)
- 3D modeling of cities
- Internet of things
- Social Networks
- Mobility and Transport
- urban dashboard design and implementation
- new style of urban decision-making systems
- geovisualization devoted to urban problems
- disaster management systems.

Submission must be done through: <a href="https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=udmssdsc-2017">https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=udmssdsc-2017</a>

Accepted papers will be published in the ISPRS Archives and Annals. We aim for the highest academic standards for this conference, and therefore full papers will be blind reviewed by three members of the scientific committee.

#### **Organising committee:**

David Ricardo Sol Martinez, Tecnológico de Monterrey Campus Puebla, Mexico Ofelia Cervantes Villagómez, Universidad de las Américas Puebla, Mexico Enrique Sucar, Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Óptica y Electrónica, Mexico David Pinto, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico Juan Manuel Ahuactzin, T-Systems, Mexico

# **Important dates:**

- Deadline for full papers: March 31, 2017

- Papers acceptance: April 30, 2017

- Final paper submission: May 26, 2017

- Conference dates: October 4-6, 2017

- Early birth registration May 26, 2017

# Scientific committee

Sisi Zlatanova, TU Delft, The Netherlands, Chair

Nader Afzalan, University of Redlands, USA

Giorgio Agugiaro, AIT - Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria

Ken Arroyo Ohori, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Martina Baucic, University of Split, Croatia

Michela Bertolotto, University College Dublin, Ireland

Filip Biljecki, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Omar Boucelma, Aix-Marseille University, France

Azedine Boulmakoul, Hassan II University of Mohammedia, Morocco

Maria Antonia Brovelli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

César Cárdenas, Tecnológico de Monterrey, Mexico

Ofelia Cervantes, Universidad de las Américas Puebla, Mexico

Eliseo Clementini, University of L'Aquila, Italy

Volker Coors, Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart, Germany

Isabel Cruz, University of Illinois, USA

Maria Luisa Damiani, University of Milan, Italy

Philippe De Maeyer, Ghent University, Belgium

Vincenzo Del Fatto, Free University of Bolzano/Bozen, Italy

Claire Ellul, University College London, UK

Gilles Gesquiere, Claude Bernard University of Lyon, France

Gerhard Groeger, IGG, Bonn University, Germany

Eberhard Gülch, HFT Stuttgart, Germany

Jan-Henrik Haunert, Universität Bonn, Germany

Thomas Hatzichristos, SPReD, Greece

Stephen Hirtle, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Martin Kada, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

Snjezana Knezic, University of Split, Croatia

Mila Koeva, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Robert Laurini, INSA Lyon, France

Ahmed Lbath, University of Grenoble, France

Marguerite Madden, University of Georgia, USA

Ed Manley, University College London, UK

Viviana Mascardi, University of Genova, Italy

Damir Medak, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Marco Minghini, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Raul Monroy, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico

Regina Motz, Universidad de la República, Uruguay

Beniamino Murgante, University of Basilicata, Italy

Marco Painho, New University of Lisbon, Portugal

Dimos Pantazis, TEI of Athens, Greece

Dev Paudyal, USQ, Australia

Luis Pineda, IIMAS, UNAM, Mexico

Alenka Poplin, Iowa State University, USA

Jose Alberto Quintanilha, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Ivana Racetin, FGAG, Croatia

Stephane Roche, Université Laval, Canada

Massimo Rumor, University of Padua, Italy

Maribel Yasmina Santos, Universidade do Minho, Portugal

Sylvie Servigne, INSA-Lyon, France

Carissa Slotterback, University of Minnesota, USA

David Sol, Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico

Wei Tu, Shenzhen University, China

Genoveva Vargas Solar, CNRS, France

Kavita Vemuri, IIITH, India

Agnès Voisard, Freie Universität Berlin and Fraunhofer, Germany

Mingshu Wang, University of Georgia, USA

Bev Wilson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Claudia Yamu, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Alexander Zipf, University of Heidelberg, Germany

Sisi Zlatanova, Technical University of Delft, The Netherlands